• "I did not have three thousand pairs of shoes, I had one thousand and sixty." ~Imelda Marcos
  • Join 2 other followers

  • Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Hot Ham Water

Hello!  Merry Christmas to all and an early Happy New Year! I hope everyone is having a safe, warm, and fantastic holiday.

We visited D’s family for Christmas and ate mounds of terribly tasty treats.  My contribution was this peppermint bark (of course, would you expect anything else?).

It is for holidays and special occasions like these, where people make splendid, high-quality goodies from scratch with real ingredients and lots of TLC, that I save up serious splurges and “letting go.”  And boy did I ever. 🙂  I’ve probably eaten five desserts a day since Friday.  I have some exercising to do to work off these extra couple of pounds but it was totally worth it.

Exercise this week:

  • Sunday – 4 mile run
  • Monday – 30 min. lifting, 10 min. stationary bike level 6 over 85 rpm’s
  • Wednesday – 30 min. lifting, 1 mile walk/run through snow (had to turn around halfway because the snow was too icy and packed for running), 2 mile run on a different path

Big news, everyone

I am officially registered for my first half marathon. 🙂  I am so excited.  I finally bit the bullet and decided to do the Nashville Country Music Half that I mentioned a few weeks ago.  I am road tripping with a group of friends and we will split hotel rooms to save dollaz.  I am not a country music fan but I know it’s going to be a blast nonetheless  And also my first time visiting Nashville. Aw snap!  No, I don’t ever actually say that.

I pushed my training plan out a few weeks but otherwise it looks just like this.  Week 1 is actually this week!  I’m currently running enough on my own to satisfy the first few weeks of the plan so I won’t officially be following it until late January/early February.

News, everyone

I took this week off from work to catch up around the house and take a breather from work.  It has been wonderful.  I have cleaned out and reorganized our master closet, put together a 1,000 piece puzzle with D, exercised several times, grocery shopped, run payroll for D’s company, returned some things, cooked, read, blogged, caught up on some TV shows, and on and on.  Happy sigh.  Monday is going to be a rude awakening.

My list for the rest of my time off includes cleaning and reorganizing our master bedroom, shipping a few packages, and more quality time with D, who has also taken this week off.  Tomorrow morning we are doing a Movie in the Morning, complete with snuggling blankets, peppermint coffee, and banana steel cut oats.  I can’t wait! 🙂

Onto foodier things

My company gives out holiday hams to employees each year.  I don’t normally eat ham as I find it to be too heavy, high in sodium, and generally too salty for my taste, but, hey, multiple free dinners. 🙂  For those I make a once-a-year ham allowance.

I received mine a couple of weeks ago but had refrained from using it until after we returned from our Christmas visits.  We got home late Saturday night so I decided to cook it on Sunday.  Well, reheat it, really, as it comes pre-cooked.  My goal was to avoid a trip to the grocery store and use up leftovers.  I wanted to see how far I could stretch it.  I did end up having to go to the store today for essentials but I think I will be able to stretch it to Thursday, or possibly  even Friday. 🙂

Weekly Menu 12/27-1/1

  • Sunday – sliced ham, stuffing, broccoli
  • Monday – ham sandwiches, stuffing, broccoli…these sandwiches were much tastier than we had anticipated they would be!  Definitely worth two rounds.
  • Tuesday – ham sandwiches, broccoli
  • Wednesday – ham, bean, and veggie soup
  • Thursday – tentatively leftover soup
  • Friday – tentatively ham & veggie scrambled egg sandwiches

The ham, bean, and veggie soup (a.k.a. hot ham water) that I made today is really delicious and uses almost all leftovers from my fridge and pantry.  The only things not left over were the zucchini and mushrooms.  I had two bowls tonight and semi-seriously contemplated a third.

I googled ham & bean soup and found this recipe.  It became my inspiration, and from that I created my own version:

Ham, Bean, & Veggie Soup

You’ll need:

  • 4 cups low sodium organic veggie broth
  • 3 cups water
  • 16 oz. mixed dried beans
  • chopped veggies – onions, carrots, zucchini, mushrooms, fresh spinach
  • garlic
  • salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, chili powder, oregano, no salt zesty seasoning to taste
  • leftover chopped ham – somewhere between 1/2 lb. to 1 lb.?  I just kept adding ham until it looked like a ham, veggie, and bean soup rather than a bean and veggie soup.

Directions:

  1. Cover beans with cool water in a large pot and soak for 8-10 hrs.  I set the beans out to soak this morning on my way to the gym.
  2. Discard water, rinse, fill pot of beans with 8 cups fresh cool water and bring to a boil.  Simmer for 10-20 minutes to soften the beans a bit.  If you use dried red kidney beans, be sure to boil for 10 minutes to remove the phytohemagglutinin.
  3. Discard water, rinse, fill with veggie broth and water as directed above.  Add all ingredients except for spinach and ham.  Bring to a boil.
  4. Reduce soup and simmer for about 20 minutes.  Add the ham and spinach.  Simmer for another 30-40 minutes or until the beans are tender.  My mom called at this point so the time went by quickly.
  5. Serve and yum.
2 Responses

  1. That peppermint bark looks fantastic! I’ve tried copying the Trader Joe’s stuff they sell at this time of year- I’ve had one too many fails to attempt again!

Leave a Reply

