Running Through The Snow

Here are some very high quality cell phone pictures from the first mile or two of my snowy six mile run on Saturday.  It was lovely.  And cold.  And also a little windy at times when I hit the clearings that separate the large patches of woods.  I frequently found myself with two choices, especially as I got farther into my run and there was more snow: to either run through the powdery snow or to slosh through the squishy slush.  I usually chose the snow and I think it was the right choice because my socks stayed dry the entire time. 🙂  As always, I employed one-minute walk breaks for every mile run.

The weather was about 30-35*F with winds at 6-8 mph.  My outfit consisted of mix-and-match items that I found in my closet and figured would suffice.  They worked well as my temperature fluctuations during the run reached neither extremely warm nor extremely cold.  They included:

  • Lower body
    • Tights tucked into my socks – TJ Maxx
    • Yoga pants – Target
    • Regular running socks – Target
    • Shoes – New Balance
  • Upper body
    • Sports bra – Under Armour
    • Performance t-shirt – Race t-shirt
    • Performance long-sleeved shirt – Avia? TJ Maxx
    • Mid-weight lined jacket – Target
  • Accessories
    • Gloves – Target
    • Ear warmer headband – Old Navy
    • Garmin + HRM
    • RoadID
    • Car key
    • Cell phone
    • Hammer Gel + Sports Beans
4 Responses

  1. Gosh, you’re a trooper!

    I just wanted to pop by and thank you for entering the giveaway for my calendar over at Daddylikey. We’ve still got a few left for sale if you’re keen (cough, shameless self-promotion, cough) ; )

    • Thanks, Sarah. Love your blog, and also Winona’s. I sort of conceptualize you both within the same thought, kind of like platform shoes and hookers.

Leave a Reply

