Cookies, pull-ups, and lentils, oh my!

Arrrgh (said like a frustrated pirate). I just realized that my pictures from the last few days are being held hostage in my camera, which goes through batteries like a black widow goes through husbands.  In the meantime, you’ll just have to make do with my ramblings and glaring eccentricities.

Exercise 11/30/09 – After I spent the day pulling out my hair at work and stuffing myself full of pumpkin chocolate chip cookies that were meant to be shared (yeah right, are they ever?) with all of the coworkers who never showed up, I felt especially motivated for a good workout.  I am not usually a comfort eater but yesterday I definitely was.

  • 30 minutes of strength training including pyramid sets of push-ups (75 total) and pull-ups (21 total), squats, and ab work.
  • 2 mile run easy on the indoor track to test out my ankle.  It did fabulously!  I’ll take today off and try for an easy 3 mile or so run on Wed. or Thurs.
  • 10 minutes elliptical above 5.5 speed on level 6 or 7, can’t remember.

Work kind of blew but I felt fantastic after my workout.  I went home, had a recovery shake to get my post-workout 2:1 ratio of simple carbs to proteins, followed by a glass of wine (a perfect pair if I do say so), and made my loose interpretation of Angela’s red lentil soup again.  I had been craving it for hours.  It was perfect and ended up being ready just as D walked in the door.  I served it with a toasted slice of sprouted grain bread because it’s December in the bleak Blue Ridge and exceptions are made.

Our friend came over and we watched an episode of Dexter.  If the opening sequence of that show is not one of the very BEST EVER, I don’t know what is:

Absolutely brilliant.

That ties with the opening sequence of The I.T. Crowd as my favorite television show  sequences.

There are only a few days left to vote in the Love! This Site Divine Caroline contest.

As I said above, my ankle is doing miles better now than it was.  However, it’s popping something crazy.  It hurts yet feels good in the process, sort of like a spanking.  Did I just say that?

Leave a Reply

