• "I did not have three thousand pairs of shoes, I had one thousand and sixty." ~Imelda Marcos
  • Join 2 other followers

  • Sport Blogs - BlogCatalog Blog Directory

Stuff Me Silly

Are my pictures worth a thousand words?  Probably not.  Probably not even a hundred. 🙂  But here’s what my meals have looked like over the past few days:

Thursday dinner:

That was lentils, brown rice, kidney beans, spinach, pine nuts, low sodium chicken broth, garlic, red pepper flakes, and some other stuff.  It was fab.  D absolutely loved it.  Served with a slice of lightly buttered leftover Sweet Water Co. bread, which is delicious.  That other piece of bread is D’s.  Promise.

I don’t normally serve bread alongside a carb-heavy meal but this is November in the bleak Blue Ridge.  Exceptions are made.

Friday’s dinner:

This was pretty much an everything-but-the-kitchen-sink soup.  It had fresh butternut squash, low sodium organic butternut squash soup, kale, zucchini, mushrooms, pine nuts, chili powder, red pepper flakes, nutmeg, quinoa, parmesan cheese, and some other unidentifiable things.  It was….interesting.  Let’s just say I ended up eating most of it.  And it tasted better on Sunday scrambled with spinach and cheese in some eggs.

Lunch today:

Black bean veggie burger with cheddar, lettuce, tomato, mustard, and a side of fruit.  I don’t normally eat pickles as they are high in sodium and I don’t love them.  Also this one wasn’t having a very good day.

The burger was great.  Good flavor, filling, and nicely paired with the cheese.  I was a little surprised when I opened it to learn that by “Black Bean Burger” they really did mean black beans…and nothing else.  Still, it was good.  And so was the fruit. I can’t wait until we get a fridge in here because it’s killing my wallet.

After lunch, I had:

Banana bread! 🙂  Yumyumyum.  That brings me to my next post, which will follow sometime tonight.

I need to get more reusable containers.

Previous meals today were:

Breakfast – sprouted grain english muffin with natural apple butter and 3 lite LC cheese squares plus coffee + nonfat milk

Morning Snacks – lite cheese stick, baby carrots, grapes

Afternoon Snacks – low sugar granola bar, large banana

I’ve been above-average hungry today.  I’m not sure why since I didn’t exercise yesterday and this morning.  Exercise normally revs up my appetite for about 24 hours afterward.  On an average day I would have been fine without either of these afternoon snacks.  However, I went with it in order to top off my energy stores for tonight’s lifting and run.  Can’t wait!

3 Responses

  1. I LOVE black bean burgers!

  2. […] of simple carbs to proteins, followed by a glass of wine (a perfect pair if I do say so) and made my loose interpretation of Angela’s red lentil soup again.  I had been craving it for hours.  It was perfect and […]

Leave a Reply

