$197.39

That’s how much it costs to get an eye infection.

I’d mentioned last week that my left eye was spectacularly red.  It also burned, looked a tad inflamed, and watered while I slept.  I had my annual contacts/eyeglasses exam yesterday and had the irritated eye checked out while I was there.  Turns out I have some pretty good inflammation in that eye although nothing that some meds and a little TLC can’t fix.

The eye doctor thinks that my eye is failing to make enough oily tears (our eyes produce two types of tears – oily and watery) so it lacks that lubrication.  To compensate, I am over-producing watery tears but in the process making it more difficult for any oily tears I do produce to stick around.  Long story short, my eyes, especially the left one, are dry (probably due to the change in temperatures/seasons) and need some assistance in recovering.

So I was prescribed steroidal eye drops, told to take three fish oil pills a day, and given some non-prescription moisturizing eye drops to supplement.  I’ll go back in two weeks to ensure successful healing and confirm that I’m not having any significant side effects.

Here’s where it gets a little nutty.

After my appointment, I went to the Kroger pharmacy to fill my prescription.  Guess how much these eye drops cost me with insurance….

$35.00.

How much did I save by having insurance?

$52.39

insurancesavedyou

If I hadn’t been covered by insurance, these eye drops would have cost me $87.39.

$87.39 for this?

eye drops

Apparently, I’m a poor shot because I’ve accidentally wasted 2.5 drops already. 🙂 According to this article, there are approximately 100 drops in this small bottle of prescription eye drops.  That means that each drop costs $.87.  Two-and-a-half wasted drops is $2.18 down the drain.

Add that to the $110 it cost me to see the doctor (some portion of which I will be reimbursed by insurance, thank goodness) and that is a total of almost $200.00 that someone who is not insured would have had to pay out of pocket for an eye exam and to receive treatment for a simple eye infection.  This does not account for the fact that I already owned fish oil pills (another $8-$10) and was given the supplemental moisturizing eye drops (another $5 or so for travel size)  for free.  Note: I’m not sure but I suspect the doctor visit would have cost less if I hadn’t also been there for a contacts/eyeglasses exam.

However, I still can’t get over the fact that somebody, somewhere, made the decision to charge uninsured consumers $87 for this tiny little bottle of seasonal allergy eyedrops.

Check It Out: Tasha over at The Clean Eating Mama is doing another giveaway, this time for a year’s subscription of Eating Well magazine. Awesome!

3 Responses

  1. Yikes, that’s an expensive eye infection. That bottle looks familiar…I’ve had a few eye infections myself. Hope the eye is better soon!

  2. […] left work a little early for my follow-up eye exam.  I am no longer inflamed!  Good stuff.  On the way home, the box of Cokes I had sitting on the […]

Leave a Reply

