Run run run.

Saturday’s easy run:

Two miles inside to test out my new shoes.  At first I was a bit unsure about the fit but after stealing the SuperFeet inserts out of my old shoes and throwing them in these, they were perfect.

Five miles outside.  It was c~o~l~d and kind of windy.  I don’t have much experience with cold-weather running (and most of it took place 10 or so years ago!) so I layered up with whatever I had on hand and went with it.  I also took a GU and Sports Beans.  Figured I’d be in the mood for one or the other at some point.

During this run I saw two other girls wearing gloves.  Smart move.  Next time I’m definitely wearing gloves.  They were also wearing running tights.  Smart move again.  My warm-up pants were noisy, slightly cumbersome, and didn’t seem to handle perspiration very well.

On top I wore a performance t-shirt, my new Mizuno vest (in blue) that I picked up this week from the running shop during a 70% off! sale, and my warm-up jacket.  The jacket was a last minute addition found in my car after I belatedly realized just how chilly the breeze made the air.  Ideally I’d like to have a long-sleeved performance shirt to go under the vest and ditch the jacket.  It, too, was not ideal for handling perspiration.

I got really overheated about a mile in, ended up tying the jacket around my waist for a few miles, then had to put it back on as the sun set and it got chillier.  Make up your mind, Sam!

I passed three deer grazing at my turn-around point.  They accepted my first pass and simply watched me go by.  However, I think they’d had enough of my leaf-crunching by the time I’d turned around to make my second pass and they bounded into the woods.

… How about that.  I just used Runner’s World’s “What Should I Wear?” tool and it told me to wear gloves, running tights, a vest, and long-sleeved shirt in this weather 🙂 : http://www.runnersworld.com/cda/whattowear/0,7152,s6-240-325-330-0-0-0-0-0,00.html?ambient_temp=16&temp_units=0&wind=1&conditions=1&preference=2&x=&y= .

The first two miles were done at about a 10:40/10:50 pace.

Splits from the five miles outside:

10:22

10:33

10:52

11:01

11:07

Avg – 10:47

I noticed my energy dropping around mile three of the five-miler as it had been a while since I’d last eaten, so I dug into the sports beans and that helped.  I had a few more at mile four.  Once I got home I also had a recovery shake with a 2:1 carbs:protein ratio plus a yummy Kashi oatmeal chocolate chip cookie.  Veggie pizza for dinner with green peppers, mushrooms, and spinach.

I’m counting todays’ runs as a 7-miler since there was only a brief break between the two and the five (driving from the gym to the running trail 10 min. away).  It’s the longest I’ve run yet (um, probably not a good idea for someone breaking in new shoes!).  I wanted to KNOW that I can do 6.2 miles for the 10K next weekend.  I’ve noticed that whenever I add an extra mile onto my long runs, I always get a bit sore and really have to push through that last mile.  However, the next time I go out and do that distance I’m fine.  I’m a little stiff now but I iced the knees when I got home and it seemed to do the trick.  Hopefully next weekend I’ll handle the 6.2 miles at race pace with ease.

2 Responses

  1. 7 miles is a great distance. I love it. I haven’t run that distance in over a month or so! I’ve taken my running down a notch, but i’m glad you’ve tested out the shoes!

  2. […] I will no longer be that improperly-dressed […]

Leave a Reply

