Carbo Loving

A couple of pictures from the race this weekend:

samtri2

samtri2b

My new New Balance 1225’s have arrived!

I’m heading to the gym for weights tonight but plan to break them in tomorrow with a 2 miler indoors (new shoe test run) followed by 4-5 outside.

My eating has been rather interesting over the last month or so.  Normally I try to strike a pretty good balance of proteins, fats, and carbs although I have a natural sweet tooth (really, I’ve had my DNA tested and one of the things it showed was a genetic tendency to favor sweets.  Technology these days!) so my carbs are always a bit higher.

However, as I upped my workouts a bit to prepare for my races my appetite for carbs skyrocketed.  They were all I thought about and my body couldn’t get enough of them. I usually tried to focus on complex carbs, although I always have a combination of simple carbs and proteins right after a workout for recovery/rebuilding purposes.

My carb cravings are still higher than normal although a wee bit better since I eased up from heavy workouts a week ago.  It concerned me for a little while as I wasn’t too kosher with the idea of packing on a bunch of weight but my weight remains the same despite reduced activity and I feel better afterward.  That tells me that my body probably just needed the extra fuel!

Today I’ve had:

Breakfast

– sprouted grain English muffin with natural apple butter

– 3 Laughing Cow cubes

– mug of coffee + skim milk

– water

Lunch

– water

– sips of D’s Coke

– calzone with broccoli, spinach, mushrooms, mozzarella, parmesan with tomato sauce

Snack

– small snack bag full of pomegranate seeds

– 2 squares Lindt 70% cocoa dark chocolate

– peach

I’m feeling pretty good right now.  I may be borderline low on carbs as I leave now to hit the gym – can’t tell yet – but I doubt it will be too bad since I had that nice carby calzone at lunch.

I’d love to hear about other athlete’s experiences with balancing their food needs with increased activity.

Leave a Reply

